Happy Am I – inspired by a visit to Majorca

Click to listen to the poem

Happy are you and happy you alone. You who can call today your own.  You who, secure within, can say –  tomorrow do thy worst for I have lived today.  Be fair or foul or rain or shine,  the joys I have possessed, in spite of fate, are mine.  Not heaven itself upon the past has power.  But what has been, has been and I have had my hour.

(‘Happy is the Man’ by Horace (65 – 8 BCE) Translated by John Dryden in the 17th century, de-gendered by me)

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_f20d7c8

This is my response:

Happy am I for I have lived today.  

I have had a glimpse of the place to whom I pray.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_m37d58b63

I have drunk the nectar from the oranges I did pluck.

And I have felt my spirit from its sorrows come unstuck.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_5fd7e8b6

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_m6bb8481

I have heard the birds burst out in bawdy din.

And I have danced a salsa with the sunlight on my skin.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_6b42169

I have touched my roots in the ancient olive trees.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_57816f1c

And I have tasted heaven in a chunk of cabra cheese.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_ed0279a

I have skipped on rocks climbing up on stony stairs.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_e7cb119

And I have waltzed through olive groves and left behind my cares.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_39fbe608

I have walked in mountains, jagged peaks up high above.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_2c010802

And I have joined my soul to the woman who I love.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_7243e0c8

I have caught the scented joy from a purple flower.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_m51cc6909

Now all of that has been and gone but I have had my hour.

Happy Am I Majorca photo book_html_m7f8d52fb

One Response to “Happy Am I – inspired by a visit to Majorca”

  1. Lynne Says:

    Ah the peace of seeing, feeling, loving, and sharing. Thank you, Love Lynne

Leave a Reply

