Response to William Wordsworth

To William Wordsworth who wrote a poem in 1798 after visiting the River Wye:

On the steep and lofty cliffs, reaching for the sky
above Tintern Abbey, along the River Wye
you composed a poem, that sweetly tells me why
it’s in Nature where I walk.

O sylvan Wye. My spirit turned to thee!
These are your words and they have set me free.
Your elevated thoughts have taught me how to be
in Nature where I walk.

I too have felt the Presence,
the sublime and deepening sense,
of joy, of light, not dark or dense,
in Nature where I walk.

I sense it by the River Wye,
in the setting sun, the cloud-covered sky,
in the woods, the meadows, the herons that fly
in Nature where I walk.

All that I behold on this green earth
lifts me from gloom to a sense of worth.
This my home, my dwelling, my berth,
is in Nature where I walk.

I’ve found the guardian of my heart,
the anchor where pure thoughts do start,
the nurse of my most inspired art
in Nature where I walk.

When in fear or pain or grief I’ve drowned,
in my mind I remember the harmonious sound,
and the beautiful forms that I have found
in Nature where I walk.

I won’t forget that we stood together
on the banks of this stream amidst the heather.
With deepest zeal, we worship forever
in Nature where we walk.

Response to William Wordsworth

Leave a Reply

